Arizona United Soccer Club forward Long Tan named to 2014 USL PRO All-League Second Team

Posted on September 23, 2014 9:36 am by Arizona United Soccer Club Communications

PEORIA, Ariz. (Tuesday, September 23, 2014) – Today, the USL PRO announced that Arizona United Soccer Club forward Long Tan was named to the 2014 All-League Second Team.

Tan joined Arizona United Soccer Club midway through the club’s inaugural season and in 12 matches played, finished tied for the team lead in goals scored with five. With Tan, Arizona United Soccer Club increased its goals per game average by nearly double, going from 0.88 to 1.58. The club posted a 6-4-2 record and made a late playoff push that ultimately ended with the club finishing one position shy of the eighth and final playoff spot.

“It’s a great testament to Long Tan and to the rest of the guys on our team,” said Arizona United Soccer Club General Manager Kevin Stevenson.  “When Long joined us in July, he provided an immediate spark as we became a very difficult side to play against down the stretch. Tan’s inclusion in the USL PRO All-League Second Team is a nice feather in the cap for our organization.”

The finalists for Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player will be announced on Wednesday, September 24, with the awards being presented at the USL PRO Championship news conference on Friday, September 26 in Sacramento.

2014 USL PRO All-League First Team

GK – John McCarthy, Rochester Rhinos
D – Luke Boden, Orlando City SC
D – Ashani Fairclough, W. Hammerheads FC
D – Nemanja Vukovic, Sac. Republic FC
D – William Yomby, Richmond Kickers
MF – George Davis, Richmond Kickers
MF – Rodrigo Lopez, Sac. Republic FC
MF – Kevin Molino, Orlando City SC
F – Matthew Delicâte, Richmond Kickers
F – Chandler Hoffman, LA Galaxy II
F – Dane Kelly, Charleston Battery

2014 USL PRO All-League Second Team
GK – Joe Willis, Richmond Kickers
D – Matt Bahner, Harrisburg City Islanders
D – Gareth Evans, OKC Energy FC
D – Brad Rusin, Orlando City SC
D – Daniel Steres, LA Galaxy II
MF – Andre Auras, LA Galaxy II
MF – Jorge Herrera, Charlotte Eagles
MF – Allan Russell, Orange County Blues FC
F – J.C. Banks, Rochester Rhinos
F – Aaron Schoenfeld, Dayton Dutch Lions
F – Long Tan, Arizona United SC